I’m ADDICTED to Vampire Survivors!! – Review (Xbox/Steam/Steam Deck)

Follow me on social media:

#Xbox #XboxSeriesX

Vampire Survivors is a roguelike shoot ’em up video game developed and published by Luca Galante, also known as poncle. Following an early access period from December 17, 2021, it was released for macOS and Windows on October 20, 2022. Ports to Xbox One and Xbox Series X/S are set to be released on November 10, 2022.

The player controls an automatically attacking character while fighting against continuous waves of monsters, with the goal being to survive the onslaught for as long as possible and unlock additional characters, weapons, and relics for subsequent sessions. In spite of the game’s name and key art, none of the variety of monsters encountered are vampires. The player selects one of multiple characters with different starting weapons and bonuses, and controls them on an endless stage with an auto-generated, repeating layout. The player’s weapons attack automatically, and the goal is to survive as long as possible against constant waves of monsters that inflict damage when they come in contact with the player. Defeating monsters and exploring the stage allows the player to collect experience gems, which are used to level up, “floor chicken”, which restores the player’s health, and other helpful items. Each level increase provides the player the choice of three or four weapons and passive power-ups; once the player has collected six weapons and six power-ups and upgraded them all fully, any further levels they gain offer only gold coins or floor chicken. Another way to upgrade weapons and power-ups is to open chests, which are dropped by particularly powerful monsters and may contain one, three, or five random items. Most weapons have an ultimate form that can be attained by opening a chest after fully upgrading them and meeting other specific conditions.

Sessions of Vampire Survivors have a soft time limit of 15 or 30 minutes, depending on the stage chosen. At the time limit, the stage is cleared of all enemies and a final, tremendously strong enemy named Death will spawn. One additional Death will appear every consecutive minute thereafter to ensure the player’s eventual demise. A session that reaches or exceeds the stage’s time limit is considered a successful completion and rewards bonus gold coins. In between sessions, accumulated gold coins can be spent to unlock new characters and persistent power-ups. Additionally, by completing challenges, the player can also unlock new stages, weapons, and characters.

Original Source Link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button